Western countries have condemned plans to hold referendums in four regions of eastern and southern Ukraine.

BBC reported this information in a report.

The four regions that will hold the referendum are Luhansk and Donetsk in eastern Ukraine and Zaporizhzhia and Kherson in southern Ukraine. Those areas are currently controlled by Moscow.

The area of ​​those four regions is 15 percent of the total area of ​​Ukraine. Which is equal to the size of the independent country of Hungary.

Russian-backed separatists have organized referendums in those regions mainly to determine whether the people of that region are interested in merging with Russia.

But the US, Germany and France said they would not recognize the ‘fake’ vote in the referendum.

German Chancellor Olaf Scholz expressed outrage, saying Russia had planned a “fake” vote.

On the other hand, French President Emmanuel Machon commented that this election is a ‘parody’ of democracy.

And military alliance NATO said plans to hold a referendum would further worsen the escalating war situation.

(September 21)