The United States imposed unprecedented sanctions on Russia in response to its aggression in Ukraine. In response, Moscow has banned 200 American citizens, including the family of US President Biden. Russia released the list of those banned on Friday.

Politicians, government officials and their family members, including Paul Pelosi, President Biden’s sister and brother, have been targeted by Russian sanctions, Fox News reported. Moscow claims the banned individuals took part in “rasophobic propaganda” against the government of Russian President Vladimir Putin.

Russia said in a statement that the sanctions were “imposed in response to all the new personal sanctions the Biden administration continues to impose against not only Russian officials, business circles and public representatives, cultural figures, but also those who are objectionable for one reason or another.”

The list included House Speaker Nancy Pelosi’s husband Paul Pelosi, Biden’s sibling Valerie Biden Owens, James and Frances Biden family members.

Several senators, both Republicans and Democrats, were included on the list. They include Bernie Sanders, I-VT, Elizabeth Warren, D-Mass., Marsha Blackburn, R-Tenn., Tammy Baldwin, D-Wis., Shelley Moore Capito, R-Alaska, and Lisa Murkowski.

Also included were Biden administration officials such as Health and Human Services Secretary Javier Becerra, White House Press Secretary Karin Jean-Pierre and Fed Chair Jerome Powell and Boeing Defense, Space and Security chief Ted Colbert.

Sanctions imposed by the Biden administration and allied countries on Moscow after it invaded Ukraine in February have nearly crippled the country’s economy. Russia is struggling to achieve its objectives and it has been almost a year since the war.

(12 November)